Statement from New Democrat leader Adrian Dix on former B.C. Premier Mike Harcourt being named to the Order of Canada

VANCOUVER – B.C. New Democrat leader Adrian Dix released the following statement on the announcement that former premier Mike Harcourt and 12 other British Columbians have been named to the Order of Canada:

“British Columbians are justly proud of Mike Harcourt’s remarkable contribution to community life – as a citizen, city councillor, MLA, leader of the B.C. NDP, and premier. For many of us, Mike has also been a role model, an example of an intelligent and generous spirit in the public debate.

“Mike Harcourt is also, for many British Columbians and Canadians, a source of personal hope. His remarkable recovery from a serious spinal cord injury inspired people across our province and country. Today, he is a powerful advocate and champion for individuals and families affected by disability.

“On behalf of the B.C. New Democrats, I am proud to congratulate Mike Harcourt on being named an Officer of the Order of Canada.

“I would also like to congratulate the 12 other extraordinary British Columbians who were appointed as Officers or Members of the Order of Canada: Julie M. Cruikshank, Clyde Hertzman, Bonnie Sher Klein, David W. Scheifele, Ian Hugh Wallace, Michael J. Brown, James K. M. Cheng, Jane Coop, Charmaine A. Crooks, Harold Kalman, Fred V. Martin, and Toyoshi Yoshihara.”