Bruce Ralston


Minister of Forests and Minister Responsible for Consular Corps
Bruce's Community Office
10574 King George Hwy, Surrey, V3T 2X3

About Bruce

Bruce Ralston, K.C., was first elected MLA for Surrey-Whalley in 2005.  He was re-elected in 2009, 2013 and 2017.

Bruce Ralston was appointed as B.C.’s Minister of Forests and Minister Responsible for the Consular Corps on December 7, 2022. A member of the Cabinet since July 2027, he has served as Minister for Energy, Mines and Low Carbon Innovation, Minister of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources, and Minister of Jobs, Trade and Technology.

An advocate for innovation in the province’s technology sector, he brings his experience in and knowledge of the sector to his current cabinet portfolio, where he is focused on the revitalization and modernization of the forest sector leading to expanded diversification in manufacturing. His priorities include the sustainable management and conservation of B.C.’s old growth forests in the face of climate change, while ensuring a competitive and sustainable future for communities, First Nations, workers and companies.

Minister Ralston was born in Victoria, raised in Vancouver, and spent his childhood summers in his mother’s home town of Smithers. He completed his undergraduate studies in history at the University of British Columbia, and earned a Master of Arts at the University of Cambridge in England before returning to UBC to earn a law degree. He ran a successful law practice in Vancouver and Surrey for 23 years until his election to the BC Legislature. While running his practice he served as a city councillor in Surrey, Chair of Vancity Credit Union – Canada’s largest credit union —  and President of the BCNDP. He and his partner raised their three children in Surrey.

First elected as the MLA for Surrey-Whalley in 2005, voters have re-elected him four consecutive times since then, in the 2009, 2013, 2017, and 2020 general elections.

> Download Bruce’s headshot here.

Latest News for Bruce Ralston

Surrey NDP MLAs sworn into Legislature

VICTORIA – Seven Surrey New Democrat MLAs were sworn into the Legislature virtually today following an historic election. Harry Bains, Garry Begg, Jagrup Brar, Bruce Ralston, Jinny Sims, Rachna Singh, and Mike Starchuk joined the largest BC New Democrat caucus …