Local Kaslo educator named as finalist for Premier’s Awards for Excellence in Education

Posted in:

KASLO – Local MLA Michelle Mungall congratulates Grace Broadfoot from J.V. Humphries Elementary & Secondary School on being named as a finalist in this year’s Premier’s Awards for Excellence in Education in the Outstanding New Teacher category. Grace Broadfoot is one of thirty education professionals throughout B.C. to have been named as finalists, chosen for their leadership, innovation, support and dedication to the students and school community in which they work.

“The impact of a good teacher is long-lasting and far-reaching,” said MLA Mungall. “Congratulations to Grace for this recognition. Her dedication to her students is outstanding and is greatly valued throughout the Kootenays.”

Described as a “game-changer” at her school, Broadfoot shows a real concern for her students and their learning. A highly respected teacher, she is attentive to students’ socio-emotional as well as physical health, incorporating mental health curriculum into her classes. She remains committed to developing educated citizens, using innovative methods to develop exciting and engaging learning experiences and uses the outdoor environment as her classroom. She is a model teacher for B.C.’s new curriculum and its emphasis on core competencies as she keeps big, connecting ideas at the forefront of lesson plans, while also delving deeply into the curricular competencies and content important in each discipline. She is also dedicated to personal professional learning and development.

Launched for the first time in 2018, the annual Premier’s Awards for Excellence in Education are an opportunity to recognize the contributions of public, independent and First Nations school system teachers, principals, vice-principals, school and district leaders, and support staff who go above and beyond to make life better for K-12 students in B.C. This year, 10 awards are being given out with six honouring teachers, two recognizing school and district leaders, and two honouring support staff members. The nomination period ran from Jan. 7 to April 30 and 140 nominations were received.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony at Government House in Victoria on Oct. 4, the day before World Teachers’ Day.

Winners will receive a $3,000 personal bursary for professional learning, a $2,000 contribution to their school community for professional learning and a commemorative art piece. Runners up will receive a certificate of recognition signed by the Premier and Minister of Education.