NDP South Island MLAs sworn into Legislature

VICTORIA – Six South Island New Democrat MLAs were sworn into the Legislature virtually today following an historic election. John Horgan, Murray Rankin, Grace Lore, Mitzi Dean, Lana Popham, and Rob Fleming joined the largest BC New Democrat caucus ever elected.

“Each and every day, we have been focused on supporting people through the pandemic and building our province’s recovery,” said Premier John Horgan. “Our new caucus will continue that work. I want to thank our communities for putting their trust in us in these extraordinary times. COVID-19 has impacted all of us and there is hard work ahead, but I know that my team is ready to deliver on the issues that matter to people.”

The 57 new BC NDP members were sworn in as part of part of British Columbia’s 42nd Parliament, all focused on supporting people through the COVID-19 pandemic and delivering on their commitments to British Columbians.

The election of this New Democrat caucus features a number of notable milestones, including:

  • First majority-women governing caucus in Canadian history
  • Largest BC NDP caucus in history
  • Highest number of IBPOC MLAs ever in a caucus in BC

British Columbians put their trust in New Democrats to lead the province’s pandemic recovery, and this diverse team will ensure no one gets left behind as we move forward.


Murray Rankin, MLA for Oak Bay-Gordon Head:

“I want to thank my community for selecting me as the next MLA. I am proud to be a part of a strong NDP government equipped with clear objectives to get the economy and service sector back on track in light of the challenges brought on by the pandemic. We are not out of the woods yet but our government has a plan to improve services and invest in people so that everyone can thrive.”

Grace Lore, MLA for Victoria-Beacon Hill:

“I am so thankful to be a part of such a vibrant and engaged community. I am incredibly grateful to the people of Victoria for choosing me as their next MLA. I look forward to working alongside community members, local small businesses, and organizations to bring forward their unique concerns to the Legislature.”

Mitzi Dean, MLA for Esquimalt-Metchosin:

“It’s an honour to be elected for a second term, thank you to everyone who cast their vote. My deep love for the people, businesses and organizations in my community has fueled my advocacy these past few years and I am ready to continue this important work. I know many people are struggling as COVID-19 has turned our world upside down but I have been so impressed with how our community has banded together in unique and inspiring ways. Together we will build a brighter future.”

Lana Popham, MLA for Saanich South:

“Serving as the MLA is an opportunity I do not take for granted and I am so thankful to have a mandate to continue this work. Together we’ve made huge improvements to the services people count on, but there is much more to do. These past months have not been easy for so many and I am committed to continuing to advocate for the community I love.”

Rob Fleming, MLA for Victoria-Swan Lake:

“I want to extend a big thank you to my community here in Victoria for electing me for another term as MLA. We’ve made great progress on the shared priorities of housing and affordability but these changes have not come without challenges. The past months have been a struggle for hard-working individuals and families, that’s why I’m proud to be a part of a strong NDP government with a clear path forward.”

Learn more: https://bcndpcaucus.ca/news/57-new-bc-ndp-mlas-sworn-in-to-protect-and-support-british-columbians-through-the-covid-19-pandemic-and-recovery/

Link to downloadable MLA headshots: https://bcndpcaucus.ca/the-team/